ogp_logo seiryo


Tohoku University prior to 1945, abbreviated to Tohokudai, located in Sendai, Miyagi in the Tōhoku Region, Japan, is a Japanese national university. It is the third oldest

Imperial University in Japan and among the National Seven Universities. It is considered one of the most prestigious universities in Japan, and one of the top fifty universities

in the world.

In 2009, Tohoku University had ten colleges within the university, including fifteen departments with graduate students, with a total enrollment of 17,949 students. The

university’s three core values are “Research First” “Open-Door,” and “Practice-Oriented Research and Education.”

<International degree programs taught in English>

In 2009, Tohoku University was one of 13 universities selected by the Japanese government to lead the internationalisation of higher education in Japan. This venture, known as the

Global 30 Project, takes the form of new international degree courses taught wholly in English, at both undergraduate and graduate level. At Tohoku University, this initiative is

known as the Future Global Leadership Program (FGL).

<Undergraduate Courses>

Degrees taught in English at the undergraduate level include the International Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Course (IMAC-U), the Applied Marine Biology Course (AMB), and

the Advanced Molecular Chemistry Course (AMC).

<Graduate Courses>

Courses taught in English at the graduate level include the International Program in Economics and Management (IPEM), the International Graduate School of Accounting Policy

(IGSAP), the International Graduate Program for Advanced Science (IGPAS), the Network Medicine Course, the Basic Medicine Course, the Interface Oral Health Science Course, the

International Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Course (IMAC-G), the International Materials Science and Engineering Course (IMSE), the International Doctoral Program in

Engineering, Information Sciences and Environmental Studies, the International Graduate Program in Language Sciences, the International Course of Life Sciences, the Information

Technology and Science Course, the International Program for Environmental Sustainability Science (IPESS), and the International Post-Graduate Program in Human Security.

【Its history】
The origin of the university was Meirin-yokendo , which was founded as a medical school in Sendai in 1736. It was reorganized a few times. Later it became Sendai Medical College ;

this was the forerunner of the medical department of the university.

On June 22, 1907, the university was established under the name Tohoku Imperial University by the Meiji government as the third Imperial University of Japan, following the Tokyo

Imperial University (1877) and the Kyoto Imperial University (1897). From its start, it has advocated “Open-door” policies—it was the first university in Japan to accept female

students (in 1913) and foreign students.

In September 1907, it set up the faculty of Agriculture in Sapporo; the Sapporo Agricultural College .

It set up the Science Department in 1911, and the Medical Department (formerly the Sendai Medical College) in 1915. In 1918 it ceded the Faculty of Agriculture to Hokkaido

Imperial University. It subsequently launched Faculties of Engineering in 1919, and Law and Literature in 1922.

In 1947 the university assumed its current name, Tohoku University, acquired a new Faculty of Agriculture. In 1949, the Faculty of Law and Literature was split to form new

faculties of Law, Literature, and Economics. A Faculty of Education was added in 1949, Dentistry in 1965, and Pharmacy in 1972. Tohoku has been a national university corporation

since April 2004.